Report CoverThe Commission on Long-Term Care met on September 12, 2013 and voted in favor of putting the Final Report forward as the broad agreement of the Commission. The Commission released the Final Report at a public meeting on September 18, 2013. A video of the meeting and a copy of the slide presentation on the Final Report from the meeting are available here.

The Final Report is available here.

The Commission completed its work and submitted its Final Report to Congress on September 30, 2013.  This site is maintained to provide ongoing public access to the content of the public hearings and the Commission’s Report.

The Commission on Long-Term Care was established under Section 643 of American Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012 (P.L. 112-240), signed into law January 2, 2013.

The statute directs the Commission to: “…develop a plan for the establishment, implementation, and financing of a comprehensive, coordinated, and high-quality system that ensures the availability of long-term services and supports for individuals in need of such services and supports, including elderly individuals, individuals with substantial cognitive or functional limitations, other individuals who require assistance to perform activities of daily living, and individuals desiring to plan for future long-term care needs.”

The statute further directs the Commission within 6 months of the appointment of Commissioners (by September 12, 2013) to: “…vote on a comprehensive and detailed report based on the long-term care plan… [described above]… that contains any recommendations or proposals for legislative or administrative action as the Commission deems appropriate, including proposed legislative language to carry out the recommendations or proposals.”

The Commission was composed of 15 members. Three members each were appointed by the President of the United States, the majority leader of the Senate, the minority leader of the Senate, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and the minority leader of the House of Representatives.  The Commission  elected Dr. Bruce Chernof as its Chair and Dr. Mark Warshawsky as its Vice-Chair. A list of the Commissioners is provided here.

The Commission completed its work and submitted its Final Report to Congress on September 30, 2013.