July 15, 2013

Media Advisory:

Federal Commission on Long-Term Care Announces Second Public Hearing for July 17th

Fifteen member commission created by fiscal cliff law tasked with advising Congress on long-term care reform

Washington, DC – The federal Commission on Long-Term Care has scheduled its second public hearing on the topic: “Populations in Need of LTSS and Service Delivery Issues.” The hearing is scheduled for Wednesday, July 17, 2013 at 1:30 pm EDT in SDG-50 Dirksen Senate Office Building, Washington, DC.

The Commission will hear testimony from two panels of witnesses:

Panel 1: Diversity of LTSS Demand: Subpopulations and Their LTSS Needs

  • David Braddock, Ph.D., Executive Director, Coleman Institute for Cognitive Disabilities
  • H. Stephen Kaye, Ph.D., Assoc. Professor, University of California at San Francisco
  • Kevin Martone, Executive Director, Technology Assistance Collaborative
  • Robyn Stone, Ph.D. Executive Director, LeadingAge Center for Applied Research

Panel 2: Meeting LTSS Needs: Coordination of Care and Workforce Issues

  • Randall S. Brown, Ph.D., Vice-President and Director Health Research, Mathematica
  • Josephina Carbonell, Senior Vice-President, Independent Living Systems, LLC
  • Lynn Feinberg, Senior Strategic Policy Advisor, AARP Public Policy Institute
  • Joanne Lynn, M.D., Director, Altarum Center for Elder Care and Advanced Illness
  • Carol Regan, Government Affairs Director, Paraprofessional Healthcare Institute


The Commission was created by the American Taxpayer Relief Act – the so-called “fiscal-cliff” law – to advise Congress on how long-term care can be better provided and financed for the nation’s older adults and people with disabilities, now and in the future.

The bi-partisan commission consists of 15 appointees – nine members appointed by Democratic Congressional leadership and the White House and six members appointed by Republican leadership. Bruce Chernof is Chair of the Commission and Mark Warshawsky is Vice Chair. The Commission is charged by statute to report with a “plan for the establishment, implementation, and financing of a comprehensive, coordinated, and high-quality system that ensures the availability of long-term services and supports for individuals in need.”

The other appointees to the commission are: Javaid Anwar, Judith Brachman, Laphonza Butler, Henry Claypool, Judith Feder, Stephen Guillard, Julian Harris, Chris Jacobs, Neil Pruitt, Carol Raphael, Judith Stein, Grace-Marie Turner, and George Vradenburg.

# # #