July 29, 2013

Media Advisory:

Federal Commission on Long-Term Care Announces Third Public Hearing for August 1st

Fifteen member commission created by fiscal cliff law tasked with advising Congress on long-term care reform

Washington, DC – The federal Commission on Long-Term Care has scheduled its third public hearing on the topic: “Strengthening Publicly and Privately Funded Long-Term Services and Supports.” The hearing is scheduled for Thursday, August 1, 2013 beginning at 8:30 am EDT in SD-562 Dirksen Senate Office Building, Washington, DC.

The Commission will hear testimony from four panels of witnesses:

Panel 1: Strengthening Medicaid LTSS

  • Diane Rowland, MACPAC
  • Patti Killingsworth, TennCare
  • Gary Alexander, formerly Rhode Island Office of Health and Human Services
  • Melanie Bella, CMS, Medicare-Medicaid Coordination Office

Panel 2: Strengthening Medicare for LTSS

  • Joseph Antos, American Enterprise Institute
  • Barbara Gage, Brookings Institute
  • Marilyn Moon, American Institute for Research

Panel 3: Strengthening Private Long-Term Care Insurance

  • David Grabowski, Harvard Medical School
  • Lane Kent, formerly Univita
  • Jason Brown, US Treasury
  • Bonnie Burns, California Health Advocates

Panel 4: Interaction of Insurance, Private Resources, and Medicaid

  • Eric French, Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago
  • Jeffrey Brown, University of Illinois
  • Rich Johnson, Urban Institute
  • Ellen O’Brien, formerly MACPAC


The Commission was created by the American Taxpayer Relief Act – the so-called “fiscal-cliff” law – to advise Congress on how long-term care can be better provided and financed for the nation’s older adults and people with disabilities, now and in the future.

The bi-partisan commission consists of 15 appointees – nine members appointed by Democratic Congressional leadership and the White House and six members appointed by Republican leadership. Bruce Chernof is Chair of the Commission and Mark Warshawsky is Vice Chair. The Commission is charged by statute to report with a “plan for the establishment, implementation, and financing of a comprehensive, coordinated, and high-quality system that ensures the availability of long-term services and supports for individuals in need.”

The other appointees to the commission are: Javaid Anwar, Judith Brachman, Laphonza Butler, Henry Claypool, Judith Feder, Stephen Guillard, Julian Harris, Chris Jacobs, Neil Pruitt, Carol Raphael, Judith Stein, Grace-Marie Turner, and George Vradenburg.

# # #