September 13, 2013

Media Advisory:

Federal Commission on Long-Term Care Announces Public Meeting for September 18

Fifteen member commission created by fiscal cliff law tasked with advising Congress on long-term care reform

Washington, DC – The federal Commission on Long-Term Care has scheduled a public session to release its Final Report on Wednesday, September 18, 2013 beginning at 2:00 pm EDT in SD-106 Dirksen Senate Office Building, Washington, DC.

The Commission voted on September 12, 2013 in favor of putting the Final Report forward as the broad agreement of the Commission. Details on the vote and a summary of the Commission’s recommendations can be found on its website:

The Commission was created by the American Taxpayer Relief Act – the so-called “fiscal-cliff” law – to advise Congress on how long-term care can be better provided and financed for the nation’s older adults and people with disabilities, now and in the future.

The bi-partisan commission was formed with 15 appointees – nine members appointed by Democratic Congressional leadership and the White House and six members appointed by Republican leadership. Bruce Chernof is Chair of the Commission and Mark Warshawsky is Vice Chair. The Commission is charged by statute to report with a “plan for the establishment, implementation, and financing of a comprehensive, coordinated, and high-quality system that ensures the availability of long-term services and supports for individuals in need.”

The other appointees on the commission are: Javaid Anwar, Judith Brachman, Laphonza Butler, Henry Claypool, Judith Feder, Stephen Guillard, Chris Jacobs, Neil Pruitt, Carol Raphael, Lynnae Ruttledge, Judith Stein, Grace-Marie Turner, and George Vradenburg.

# # #